Boscolo Art Program


Roberto Boscolo in collaboration with BeAdvisors Art Department and Mattia Pozzoni Art Advisory are proud to present the third Boscolo Hotels and SPAS Art Program 2022/2023, entitled ”Towards the Pillars of Hercules”. The exhibition was inaugurated on September 12 at Boscolo Lyon & SPA, on the occasion of the opening of the 16th Lyon Biennial of Contemporary Art.

Art Collection – Spring 2022

Boscolo Hotels & SPAS is proud to present Towards the Pillars of Hercules, an exhibition by BeAdvisors and Mattia Pozzoni Art Advisory, organised in collaboration with the Atipografia Gallery (Arzignano, Italy). The exhibition focuses on the idea of the threshold and the possibilities of encounters between otherness, interpreted through the works of 5 artists, namely Flavia Albu, Mirko Baricchi, Mattia Bosco, Nicole Colombo, and Josh Rowell.

The concept of the exhibition takes inspiration from the Biennale’s “Manifesto of fragility”, which defines vulnerability as a condition universal and inevitably inherent to our increasingly fragile world. “Towards the Pillars of Hercules” refers to the myth of Odysseus and the thirst for knowledge that leads human beings to cross barriers and thresholds. Odysseus embodies the modern hero who leaves everything behind to start a journey and by traveling he builds his own identity, enriching himself with the others he encounters.

Mirko Baricchi

Mirko Baricchi is a painter who challenges painting in its executive possibilities. He works with rapid and persistent gestures and intervenes on the canvas in continuous drafting and removal of color. It produces an informal image that acquires complete form in the artist’s mind and becomes a landscape, another world, in the observer’s psyche. The canvas lends itself to being a threshold towards mental spaces open to the path of the gaze, walks in indefinite valleys, where the pilgrim’s compass is lost in continuous games on transparencies.

Mattia Bosco

Mattia Bosco lives and works between Milan and the Ossola mountains. His classical studies and philosophical training lead him to sculpture. In his work, the artist establishes a continuous dialogue with the matter. The sculpture is for the artist a gesture of listening and collaboration in which the material reveals itself.

For Mattia Bosco, the form is already present within the stone and the sculptor intervenes in its less significant parts in an act of liberation that allows the lines to emerge naturally. Gold leaf, silver leaf, metal, or color are the artist’s sparing responses to the chromatic nature of stones.

Josh Rowell

Josh Rowell is a UK-based artist. He generates his artistic vision by focusing on the technological innovations that shape our contemporaneity, communicating, within the confines of the visual arts, how human interactions are increasingly mediated. The artist balances artisanal techniques with the instant nature of the digital age.

This juxtaposition produces a language that explores and restructures information and celebrates the hand-made in a period strongly dominated by virtual action.

Nicole Colombo

Nicole Colombo lives and works in Milan. Her domestic and large-scale sculptures and installations create tension in the space and in the mind of the observer as they possess a sort of living energy, while the chosen materials and their combination result to be at the same time libidinal and repulsive. There is an anthropological approach at the heart of her research: the artist explores the dichotomies that often characterize Western societies and the difficulty for human beings to accept their coexistence.

By appealing to our common imagination, Colombo gives the viewer works that represent the duality of things, creating abstract characters that portray each of us.

Flavia Albu

Flavia Albu is a visual artist based in Milan. Her practice explores the structural elements of painting to reflect on representation and vision. This investigation allows her to reflect on the processes of the generation of the work. In this way, she examines themes important to the history of Western art, such as representation, vision, and method.

Approaching different visual references: pictorial typologies, and media, Flavia Albu questions the filter of the dynamics that come between and interfere with our vision of the world, starting from the painting device and its declinations.

Programme d’Art Boscolo


Roberto Boscolo, en collaboration avec le département artistique de BeAdvisors et Mattia Pozzoni Art Advisory, est fier de présenter le troisième Programme Artistique Boscolo Hotels & SPAS 2022/2023, intitulé ‘’Towards the Pillars of Hercules’’. L’exposition a été inaugurée le 12 septembre au Boscolo Lyon & SPA, à l’occasion du vernissage de la 16e Biennale d’art contemporain de Lyon.

Art Collection – Automne 2022

Towards the Pillars of Hercules, une exposition par BeAdvisors et Mattia Pozzoni Art Advisory, organisée en collaboration avec la galerie Atipografia (Arzignano, Italie). L’exposition se concentre sur l’idée du seuil ainsi que les possibilités de rencontres entre les altérités, interprétée par les œuvres de 5 artistes, à savoir Flavia Albu, Mirko Baricchi, Mattia Bosco, Nicole Colombo, et Josh Rowell.

Le concept de l’exposition s’inspire du «Manifeste de la fragilité» de la Biennale, qui définit la vulnérabilité comme une condition universelle et inévitablement inhérente à notre monde de plus en plus fragile. Towards the Pillars of Hercules fait référence au mythe d’Ulysse et à la soif de connaissance qui conduit les êtres humains à franchir des barrières et des seuils. Ulysse incarne le héros moderne qui laisse tout derrière lui pour entamer un voyage et qui, en voyageant, construit sa propre identité, s’enrichissant des autres qu’il rencontre.

Mirko Baricchi

Mirko Baricchi est un peintre qui défie la peinture dans ses possibilités exécutives. Il travaille avec des gestes rapides et persistants et intervient sur la toile en dessinant et en enlevant continuellement de la couleur. Il produit une image informelle qui acquiert une forme complète dans l’esprit de l’artiste et devient un paysage, un autre monde, dans la psyché de l’observateur.

La toile se prête à être un seuil vers des espaces mentaux ouverts au chemin du regard, des promenades dans des vallées indéfinies, où la boussole du pèlerin se perd dans des jeux continus sur des transparents.

Mattia Bosco

Artiste basé au Royaume-Uni. Il génère sa vision artistique en se concentrant sur les innovations technologiques qui façonnent notre contemporanéité, communiquant, dans les limites des arts visuels, comment les interactions humaines sont de plus en plus médiatisées.

L’artiste trouve un équilibre entre les techniques artisanales et la nature instantanée de l’ère numérique. Cette juxtaposition produit un langage qui explore et restructure l’information et célèbre le fait main dans une période fortement dominée par l’action virtuelle.

Josh Rowell

Josh Rowell est un artiste basé au Royaume-Uni. Il génère sa vision artistique en se concentrant sur les innovations technologiques qui façonnent notre contemporanéité, communiquant, dans les limites des arts visuels, comment les interactions humaines sont de plus en plus médiatisées. L’artiste trouve un équilibre entre les techniques artisanales et la nature instantanée de l’ère numérique.

Cette juxtaposition produit un langage qui explore et restructure l’information et célèbre le fait main dans une période fortement dominée par l’action virtuell

Nicole Colombo

Nicole Colombo vit et travaille à Milan. Ses sculptures et installations domestiques et à grande échelle créent une tension dans l’espace et dans l’esprit de l’observateur car elles possèdent une sorte d’énergie vivante, tandis que les matériaux choisis et leur combinaison se révèlent à la fois libidinaux et répulsifs.

Une approche anthropologique est au cœur de sa recherche : l’artiste explore les dichotomies qui caractérisent souvent les sociétés occidentales et la difficulté́ pour l’être humain d’accepter leur coexistence.

En faisant appel à notre imagination commune, Colombo offre au spectateur des œuvres qui représentent la dualité́ des choses, en créant des personnages abstraits à l’image de chacun d’entre nous.

Flavia Albu

Artiste visuelle basée à Milan, sa pratique explore les éléments structurels de la peinture pour réfléchir à la représentation et à la vision. Cette investigation lui permet de réfléchir aux processus de génération de l’œuvre. De cette façon, elle examine des thèmes importants pour l’histoire de l’art occidental, tels que la représentation, la vision et la méthode.

En abordant différentes références visuelles : typologies picturales, et médias, Flavia Albu interroge le filtre des dynamiques qui s’interposent et interfèrent avec notre vision du monde, à partir du dispositif de la peinture et de ses déclinaisons.